the elemental tent

“One of my highlights was on the outside bandstand – singing over the whole of Glastonbury that “Our Saviour’s Love Is Real”

Posted on: July 28, 2013

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=3775e54d87&view=att&th=140180bc6334bad7&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P-1O_l6qpu94LE2Bk_66Q1n&sadet=1375003683252&sads=_t1WOi48kF7c7mi4_lzwzlHQVpw

Shady People: Carly (left), with minder

Carly is elemental‘s Winston the Wolf.1 She’ll be in the background, three mobiles on the go, making it happen. Yesterday. She joins us for a brief chat..

How did you get pressed into these Glastonbury adventures?

I first came along to elemental in 2007. To be honest, I realise now that I was tricked! (Now I know more about the ways of the elemental team… I won’t name any names…2)

I agreed to drive to Glastonbury and pick up Colin [genius piano player], drive him back to Bristol, and then come back in as crew. For one night. On a very muddy year. Never having driven to Glastonbury before. Being a very impractical person, I tied together my duvet with my nice white cover on it with just some string and carried it in…

I got some funny looks as I stood ankle-deep in mud, clutching my duvet and trying to get directions to elemental. I made it with not a drop of mud on my lovely duvet! I think this must have been the point at which they looked at me and realised how capable/stupid I was! Ha.

Have things changed much? Is your job any easier?

Since then, I’ve got more involved and now do quite a lot in the run-up, getting the team together and trying to convince them that they would love to stay through the Monday take-down.

this is Sam, after 25 hours awake. don't worry, 7 hours in a hot car awaits you.. hehheh

this is Sam, after 25 hours awake. don’t worry, 7 hours in a hot car awaits you.. hehheh

This year I also got involved in the food: ordering stuff and getting a team of willing cooks! My job is easier, as I know what I’m doing a bit more now, but the job description gets a bit bigger each, year so always new things to learn!

This year was my favourite year: our new site was lovely, looking over pretty much the entire festival. I feel like it gave us a new perspective in lots of ways and not just the view!

I also sung with the Manchester girls which I loved. One of my highlights was the Sunday night – closing the venue outside on the bandstand – singing over the whole of Glastonbury that “Our Saviour’s love is real / You’ve got the love…” Amazing! 

Another highlight was the amazing team of people we had this year. I love that I asked someone to take my attractive pink steward jacket for five minutes, then had to walk someone off site on a one hour round trip, and he didn’t hit me when I got back!

in-car conversation falters a bit

in-car conversation falters a bit

Did you get to see some other corners of the festival this time?

I don’t normally stray far from ‘home’ but did get to see a few things – Chic was fun! Also went to The Park stage for the first time to see Laura Mvula and also visited Pedestrian Gate D, which I’ve not done before, (haha!)

What was difficult?

My friend drove my car down with 3 passengers – not one of them could totally remember where the car was parked – so we saw quite a lot of that field while searching for the car – which we then just sat in, pretty much stationary, for 3 hours, waiting to get out. That’s probably one of the hardest things to do after being awake for 30 hours. 

If you could have been anywhere else that week, where would you have been?

Anywhere else? Actually no! I really wouldn’t have missed it for anything. 

Were you straight back into toiling on your return home?

I had bit of rest on the Tuesday and then back to work Wednesday for a meeting about our Literature Festival in October.. Looking forward now to my holiday in 3 weeks. 

You’re part of a group of people called Love Bristol. Could you describe this?

We’ve been trying to describe LoveBristol in a few words or sentences for 6 years and I still don’t feel much more able to do that!

It’s also changed a bit over the years but essentially we’re wanting God’s kingdom to come in Stokes Croft and Bristol and the West etc. Many of us live in community houses and love what we can do as a group of people that you just couldn’t do on your own.

Thanks, Carly!

1  A person who solves problems – usually with brilliant, lucid thinking under pressure and stylish charisma for galvanizing other people into action (Urbandictionary.com)

Greg & Clare Thompson, no doubt.

1 Response to "“One of my highlights was on the outside bandstand – singing over the whole of Glastonbury that “Our Saviour’s Love Is Real”"

Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog
platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

huh?

every summer when farmer michael says ‘yes’, the small-but-perfectly-formed elemental tent rises from the mud in a little patch of somerset, england. a soiled but sparkly-eyed team of mavericks gather together & build a place of warmth, fuzziness, welcome, discovery, faith & forgetfulness. as well as making you tea, putting on a record, joining in a late night discussion or massaging your shoulders, these holy joes coyly show/hide their fragile beliefs & personal stories. they occasionally listen to yours too & are known to be ‘ok’ people (but-could-try-harder-though) when back in their homes towns.

elemental on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

